Abba Yah's Daughter

Staying Optimistic in a Wicked World


Blast from the Past

Published by

on

When I was a teenager, I enjoyed reading the Chicken Soup for the Soul books. Recently, I have been cleaning out boxes in my closet and discovered some of my books. I had a small collection of Chicken Soup books and decided I no longer wanted them. As I was checking each book for notes, bookmarks, or anything else I might have left in the books, I discovered a poem I had written…

    LIFE

Life has given me many things.

Life has made me smile and cry.

Life has encouraged me and it has discouraged me.

But life is not done with me yet.

There are still challenges and still happy times.

Life may not be great at times but it always finds a way to make it great again.

I may only be 14 but I am no dummy.

Whatever challenges Life gives me I will face them head-on like a woman.

As I read this poem from my younger self, I suddenly become emotional. I began to ponder on what was going on in my life at that time. Nothing came to mind right away however, the Rauch HaKodesh reminded me of something that happened when I was thirteen. On January 22, 2003, I woke up excited for the day. A few days prior to the 22nd I received a huge birthday package from my grandma. I had to resist the urge to open everything, decided to open something to scratch the itch, and saved the rest for my actual birthday. My birthday was on a Wednesday which meant a school birthday, but I didn’t mind because I loved school. Everything went well at school that day, but when my mom came to pick me up from school she had some devastating news.

 While my mom and I were at work and school, someone broke into our apartment. They didn’t ransack the house but strategically took certain things. At the time I was beginning to get into music and collecting CDs. I had a boombox, Walkman’s, two portable cd players, and one big and small cd holder carrying case. My mom explained to me that the intruder/s did take both my portable cd players and cd collections. Auspiciously nothing else of value was taken and I found it weird that they didn’t take anything from my birthday box. If they had opened one of my birthday cards they would have gotten some money. I was grateful they didn’t take anything from my box but deeply saddened by losing my music collection. I stopped collecting music after that incident. Back then I couldn’t understand why that happened to me especially on my birthday.

Now that I am an adult I have a better understanding of why that incident happened to me. In March of 2012, I decided to accept Yahshua Hamashiach as my lord and savior and got water baptized. As I was being pulled from the water, I heard GOD’s voice for the first time and HE said, “You will be tested in ways you can’t even imagine.” The gospel of Matthew 3:17 (KJV) states; And lo a voice from heaven, saying, This is my beloved Son, in whom I am well pleased. Prior to getting water baptized I had not heard GOD’s audible voice however, I know HE talked to me in other ways. I believe GOD started talking to me in my dreams when I was four years old. The incident in 2003 was GOD speaking to me as well. HE was showing me that the music I was collecting was not good for me. I experienced significant things that I now know were orchestrated by GOD. My poem Life was inspired by the circumstances GOD allowed me to go through. Romans 8:28 (KJV) states; And we know that all things work together for good to them that love GOD, to them who are the called according to his purpose. I am still figuring out what my purpose is, and GOD is guiding me in every way showing me my purpose.

   GOD

GOD has given me many things and taken many things away.

GOD has made me smile and cry.

GOD has encouraged me and discouraged me.

But GOD is not done with me yet.

There are still challenges and still happy times to come.

GOD is Great all the time and always provides what his children need.

I may only be 31 but I am no dummy.

Whatever challenges life gives me, GOD will be with me and I will face them head-on like a Kingdom Woman. #KWITM

Leave a comment